Sheep and the freezer

More
2 weeks 5 days ago #557448 by Bullandbags
Hi.

I am new to this all and would love some information on suggested ages/when the best time is to send a couple of sheep to your local homekill guy. 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 weeks 4 days ago #557449 by VioletFarmer
Replied by VioletFarmer on topic Sheep and the freezer
Howdy, do you like the taste of lamb or mutton? If lamb get them processed at 10 months or under, if mutton any age really, but under 2 years is good, as they get quite fatty after that. We get 2 wether hoggets processed at around 18 months of age, each year. The yield is good & its enough meat to last 2x adults a year, with family bbq's etc. 

More
2 weeks 3 days ago #557453 by tonybaker
Replied by tonybaker on topic Sheep and the freezer
if they are under one year now, I would do one straight away and leave the other until later. It's quite easy to butcher your own sheep, kindest way to kill them is to shoot them whilst they are feeding at the fence, so get them used to coming up to you by giving them hand feed.

5 acres, Ferguson 35X and implements, Hanmay pto shredder, BMW Z3, Countax ride on mower, chooks, Dorper and Wiltshire sheep. Bosky wood burning central heating stove and radiators. Retro caravan. Growing our own food and preserving it. Small vineyard, crap wine. :)

More
2 weeks 2 days ago #557455 by Inger
Replied by Inger on topic Sheep and the freezer
You can't leave one sheep but itself. They're a flock animal. Kill them both at the same time. Its kinder.

We get ours done between 1 and 2 years of age, as we need the grass for other animals. They're full size around 18 months. We have Wiltshires.

45 hectares between Whangarei and Paparoa
Herd of Registered Dexter cattle
New Hampshire Red poultry & Dorking poultry and Sicilian Buttercup poultry
Pilgrim Geese, Appleyard Ducks.
Polled Wiltshire Sheep, both black and white