Newbie looking to buy a bare block - advice please!

More
7 years 4 days ago #532828 by mikikkin
Hi, complete newbie here.

My husband and I are looking to buy 11 acres bare block in Whananaki South and I would love some advice!

We don't exactly want a lifestyle block as such just somewhere secluded and surrounded by nature close to the beach, a space for fruit trees & vege garden and maybe a couple of alpacas and pet pigs to eat up the leftovers - we just really want a bit of a nature playground. I would love horses but don't think we can afford the grazing so they are off the wish list for now.

- The land is mainly a fairly steep slope with a small flat area (approx 1/2 acre) halfway down the slope for the house site.
- There is a small area (about 1/4 acre that is also in grass but is quite steep
- It has some QE2 bush (about 4 acres) the rest of the bush is not under any covenants apparently.
- The sale is subject to survey (although I do have a survey report from the real estate agent that says it expires in 2 weeks)
- It is 45 minutes from Whangarei (including 15 minutes of gravel road) and a 5 minute drive to Whananaki South Beach (big draw card for us!)
- There is a small stream on the property.
- It would need solar as the house site is pretty far from the power down by the gate.
- Asking price is $200, 000

Since I am completely new to this I am not sure what questions I should be asking exactly but my concerns so far is....

- Is it realistically priced?
- Could we find a better (more flat/a little grazing) section for a similar price?
- Is the slope above the house site likely to slip/flood?
- Can we cut down some of the unconvenanted trees (I think they some are native & some macrocarpa) to create more sun on the house site which is north facing but quite shady because of the tall trees - the estate agent said we could cut down 1 acre a year but then also said if it's native you can only do 30%