How much is a fair price?

More
7 years 5 months ago #527793 by valentino
Hi everyone, I am fairly new to the world of horses and I am looking at buying a 17year old Arabian broodmare/paddock mate only, (she cannot be ridden). The sellers are asking for $1000 ono but my knowledgeable horsey friend says she is only worth $500max. Could you please give me opinions as to what you think is a fair price to offer?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 5 months ago - 7 years 5 months ago #527795 by terralee
Replied by terralee on topic How much is a fair price?
Depends on what you are wanting her for ..$1000 is pretty steep for an aged mare that can not be ridden ...if you are wanting to breed from her she is getting up there in years for that too and if you want her just as a paddock mate ...well people are looking for good homes (free) for their oldies to retire to as paddock mate once their riding days are behind them.
If you are wanting to breed from her maybe between $250 -$500 tops ...the older they get the more difficult pregnancy and getting in foal can be ...16 is considered the age when the uterus starts shrinking and trouble starts happening to broodies.
Cheers

Leonie & Zoo!!! :silly: :woohoo:
Last edit: 7 years 5 months ago by terralee.
The following user(s) said Thank You: valentino

More
7 years 5 months ago #527798 by G n T
Replied by G n T on topic How much is a fair price?
I agree with Terralee.
If you are going to breed her it might be easier/less complications with a younger mare.
And just to be breedist (if that's a word), I would think very hard about buying an arab as a paddock mate.. the ones I have known have paced the fences and been generally poorly behaved paddock beasties. They are intelligent and get bored sitting around.
For a paddock mate Id get a standardbred (often free) or a goat :-)
Free is the going rate for a paddock mate.

More
7 years 5 months ago #527811 by muri