Electric fencing for sheep

More
7 years 8 months ago #526392 by whinny
HI all, newbie here needing some guidance please. We've had our fences set up for horses with 3 strands of 40mm tape. We're now planning to add extra strands of wire or polywire to contain sheep. Bottom edge of first strand is 330mm off the ground, next strand bottom edge is 710mm off the ground. Last strand is 1100mm. Do you think we'd get away with two strands of wire at say 150mm and 540mm?
Article on here suggests closer wire spacing but can we get away with these spacings if all electric?
Any sheep breeds who are slightly less houdini prone?

I'm hesitant to put two wires between ground and first 40mm tape as lost my first horse in a fencing accident. Got caught in the bottom two wires :(

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 8 months ago #526394 by Farmersden
our sheep just don't respect any electric fencing and will push through - the more wool on them the less likely it will work.

More
7 years 8 months ago #526396 by Stikkibeek
Only thing you can do to stop sheep pushing through fences is either
1. post, battens and wire appropriately spaces, or posts netting and wire appropriately spaced,
2. Don't have sheep, they compete with horses for grazing. better to have some weaner cattle to cross-graze and clean up the pasture.

Did you know, that what you thought I said, was not what I meant :S

More
7 years 8 months ago #526397 by Rokker
Replied by Rokker on topic Electric fencing for sheep
Horses and cattle will respect an electric fence with as little as 2.5Kv, whereas with sheep you need at least 5Kv to be effective because of their heavier wool coat. Also fence energisers won't perform to their maximum potential unless they are connected to a decent earth system. I use 3 steel Y-posts, 1 meter apart, and driven down so that about 100mm is above ground, then connect the earth from the energiser to the 1st one, then to the 2nd, and then to the 3rd.