shelter belts...Starting from scratch

More
8 years 1 month ago #520824 by jojokiwi
We've just purchased a 4ha block in north Canterbury and need some advice from those in the know about shelter belts and planning/designing your block

Because we are total novices, I'm thinking it may be a good idea to get a contractor to plant our shelter belts for us but I don't seem to be able to find anyone that offers this service.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

I've looked at tree species etc and while some recommend leyland cypress I've heard they aren't wonderful for stock....same for macrocarpa. So I'm kind of unsure what would suit our conditions. The other two shelter belts are established pine...not sure if they are great for allergies.

So any shelter belt favourites out there?

Thanks
:-)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 1 month ago #520831 by LongRidge
I rushed in and planted shelter belts and shelter trees. Now that they have grown, and before that, I've wasted many hours cutting them down. Our land grows totaras very well indeed, but not beech. Animals don't like totaras, and the only shelter that I needed were the trees that were already here.. I strongly suggest to spend a couple of years on the property before you decide what and where to plant. Sheep, cattle, goats and horses do not naturally live in wooded areas or forests.

More
8 years 1 month ago - 8 years 1 month ago #520833 by VioletFarmer