Starting from scratch - fencing planting ideas?

More
9 years 4 weeks ago #39641 by whinny
Hi all, newbie here :) Its taken 10yrs of scrimping and saving but we've finally bought our first LSB yippee. In a nutshell its slightly north of Puhoi (Rodney), 10acres bare land, rectangle shape boundary with no internal fences, exposed to coastal winds (easterlies). Land ranges from flat then up fairly steep hill to rolling land on the ridgeline. Driveway will have to run through middle of land due to contour, up to house site near top boundary. Stock wise will be horses (2 maybe 3 max) and sheep, hopefully some alpacas and goats at a later stage.

Would love some thoughts/ideas around setting out new internal fences and planting :) Some dos or don'ts?
I'm thinking of using the drive as the race, not sure if its good idea in theory but a pain in practice? Also thinking of planting poplar or willow stakes asap on the hills as can see some early erosion.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 4 weeks ago #506842 by lisaeve
Not sure how this works with sheep... but we found it invaluable to run animals on our place with no permanent fencing for a while. We quickly worked out that where we thought we wanted gates was actually totally wrong.
Also while it's really tempting to start planting asap, either fence off your planting, or wait until you have permanent fences in place. It's a bit gutting to do loads of planting and then find someone's stock have got loose and pulled up all your cabbage trees...
ETA: we don't have an actual race; but our neighbours do and we borrow theirs and then bring stock up our driveway. Cattle are quite keen on sticking to driveways unless they're really hungry. Not so sure about other animals. It doesn't take cattle long being on our place before they work out where we want them to go once a gate has been opened.