Small block stocking advice

More
9 years 4 months ago #38832 by Paul Newman
Hi,

We've just bought a small lifestyle property just outside of Pirongia, Waikato.

We have 3 small paddocks totaling around 1.5 acres, and I'm struggling to know what to do with them.

I'm not really interested in keeping sheep as everyone tells me they're a heck of a lot of work and time is something that we don't have a great deal of due to work, family etc - I was interested in keeping a Highland steer but have been told that I shouldn't keep one on it's own, but that my land isn't big enough for two.

Please excuse the naivete of my post - I'm brand new to this, it's a little daunting and I don't want to do the wrong thing and have livestock that suffer.

Appreciate any pointers, suggestions etc.

Thanks,

Paul.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 4 months ago #499209 by keppelk
Replied by keppelk on topic Small block stocking advice
Welcome to LSB Paul.

Sheep can be a lot of work but there are breeds that take less work. We run Wiltshire sheep. They are very hardy and don't require much input. We've had ours since August and have only yarded them to tag lambs and trim feet of a few ewes. The trimmed feet are still good 2 months later - hoping it was a one-off. All our fences and gates are covered in wool at the moment with them shedding which takes a bit of getting used to. Uneducated visitors have commented on how unkempt they look, but after shedding they look really good. Previous owner didn't drench and we haven't yet either. So far so good.

We also run Lowline cattle. Not sure if you'd get away with running 2 Lowlines on 1.5 acres. Hopefully someone from the Waikato will be able to give some pointers re carrying capacity.