Deer as Pets

More
10 years 2 months ago #36685 by preciouspaws
Deer as Pets was created by preciouspaws
Hi
Just wondered if anyone has any experience with raising young deer as pets. From what I have read..briefly..to farm them needs intensive care but I remember going to see someone on a farm and he had 2 young deer playing on his back lawn..very cute.
I understand they are flighty but if they are pets do they need the deer fencing? If there is one of them do they bond with other animals( sheep, calves, ponies)and are happy like that? Do they like lots of bush like in the wild?
We have 13 acres , hilly and have 2 ponies, 4 calves, 1 ram, 6 ewes who all lambed this year, 4 chooks and I am a Vet Nurse and have lived on farms, so not totally ignorant but not much experience with deer.
Thanks for any comments or experience

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 2 months ago #477792 by Cigar
Replied by Cigar on topic Deer as Pets
I would think they would need deer fencing to stop them wandering, a normal fence is nothing to a wild deer, they can jump it from a standing start no worries.
I have heard that wild deer are quite happy grazing with cattle but don't like sheep, so a tame one may bond with cattle.
Fallow deer are more grazers than browsers, but red deer are farmed on pasture so you shouldn't need to have them in a bush area.

More
10 years 2 months ago #477793 by spark
Replied by spark on topic Deer as Pets
Hi preciouspaws,

No ifs or buts, if you keep deer, you definitely need proper deer fencing.

You need handling facilities for TB testing or for other veterinary attention. NAIT registration, etc.

Deer, sheep and cattle share some diseases eg Johnes Disease, BVD, etc so you will need to be careful that you do not bring in sheep or cattle that are carrying diseases that will make your deer very sick or dead.