Feed and footrot.

• Akzle
11 years 1 week ago #34847 by Akzle
Feed and footrot. was created by Akzle
for goats.
i'm new at keeping them alive, usually i chase them for the opposite reason.

i've read everything on the "goat" page here and done a bit of googling. one thing i found here was to include seaweed in the diet, so i'll get onto that.

three new goats in the paddock with three old ones (who needs quarantine anyway?)

a couple have early stage footrot, at this stage they've been trimmed, they'll be sprayed with copper sulfate for a couple of weeks, and sulfur and epsom salts incorporated into the feed.

anything i'm missing? a bath isn't an option.

secondly: mineral supplements, i'm a big believer that animals knows what's best for them, however being somewhat domicile, they may not be used to having to do it, measuring doses and stuff seems a bit too much like real work, if i chuck buckets of stuff in the paddock, can i trust them to eat only as much as they need? ie if i put a big salt lick in there, are they going to lick themselves dehydrated?

they all seem happy and healthy anyway, just like to give them the best i can...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 1 week ago #458340 by LongRidge
Replied by LongRidge on topic Feed and footrot.
Would you trust yourself to only eat things that are good for you, and disregard things that taste nice? Don't be silly!!!!
A multimineral salt lick will help, but it has about 1/20th of the proportion of minerals that animals need. The rest has to come from grazing or additives to the grazing. Most of NZ is low in selenium, cobalt and copper for goats, and some areas are low in iron, so as well as using it in salt blocks they also need to be drenched or added to the fertiliser.
No, they will not eat too much salt unless they are also short of water.

• Akzle
11 years 1 week ago #458346 by Akzle
Replied by Akzle on topic Feed and footrot.