reproductive cycle of cows

More
12 years 8 months ago #28274 by caro
Probably a silly question, but as you all know, I'm a rank beginner at this!! what is the reproductive cycle of a cow? At the moment we have a hereford yearling going in the freezer around may. We were going to buy a spring weaner to bring on for the freezer also, but buying them this way is around $500 a pop, so was wondering, thinking long term, if it is worth getting a heifer and breeding our own stock (maybe from a neighbours bull or something). But would really like to know how old before the heifer can reproduce, and what the cycle is please??

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 8 months ago #387006 by hilldweller
Well the safe 'normal' option would be to put the heifer in calf at 2 and a bit years to calve at three, and then each year thereafter. Gestation is 9 and a bit months (283 days give or take a week).

You'd need to be able to wean the calf which might be a bit tricky if you only have one cow and one calf on a small block. Weaning age anywhere between 6 and 10 months.

hilldweller

More
12 years 8 months ago #387007 by Ruth
Replied by Ruth on topic reproductive cycle of cows