rat problem

More
14 years 11 months ago #18229 by kathken
rat problem was created by kathken
we've got a rat problem at the moment.

they are coming into the attic cupboard. poos on the hot water tank. every time we set the trap - we catch a rat. we set it every 2 or 3 days, sometimes every day.

but i was wondering, by setting the trap with cheese and peanut butter, are we actually attracting them in, or would that many be coming in anyway.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reluctant Suburbanite Now

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 11 months ago #270617 by L Plates
Replied by L Plates on topic rat problem
I am not a rat expert by any means but I would not have thought you were attracting them in with bait. I think they are only coming in for the warmth.

Personally I would be trying to find out how and where they are getting in and try to block their entry.

LP

Tyke Dorpers

More
14 years 11 months ago #270618 by Xartep
Replied by Xartep on topic rat problem
Oh No...

You know what they say, where there is one seen, there are ten unseen. Not reassuring I know. Keep trapping I say.

Our neighbors had to trap and bait for a year before they got their problem under control. Then they had to collect all the corpses and burn them. Not fun. Theirs was a particularly bad situation though, but it often happens in the country, especially if the house has been empty for a while, or the previous owners/tenants had unfortunate habits.

As they carry disease, you want to keep the population down as best you can.

Even with three adult cats we still see the odd one.

I hate rats... YUK!!

3 Cocker Spaniels, 1 Huntaway, 3 Cats, Goats, Sheep, Pigs, Cows, Ducks, Chickens, Bunnies - small petting zoo?:rolleyes::cool:

More
14 years 11 months ago #270621 by kathken
Replied by kathken on topic rat problem