Roosters!

More
10 years 8 months ago #35865 by KiplingAngel
Roosters! was created by KiplingAngel
Oh Dear!

We have a bunch of lovely big meat roosters that need knocking on the head - except Hubby and I are total newbies at this, and don't know what to do...

Is there anyone in the Hunua/Ararimu/Paparimu Valley who can help?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 8 months ago #469149 by Edenview
Replied by Edenview on topic Roosters!
Hey I read a very useful thread on this over at poultry central forum. We used to cut off heads with axe, very stressfull and messy! But there are very clear instructions on that thread, and now I do my birds on my own, very easy and clean. You catch the bird, hold by the legs upside down, pop its head on the ground so its facing away from you. They are usually fairly calm when you do this, must be the upside down thing. Put a broom stick over their neck just behind the head, stand on each side and pull quickly upwards. This breaks the neck. Be warned the bird still flaps but it is dead by then, I keep holding it of course just to make sure. The first time I wasn't sure I had pulled hard enough and pulled the head off(yuck) it is actually not that hard and with a bit of practice you get the feel of when the neck breaks. Not that pleasant at first but it gets a bit easier. Kind of. Hope this helps if there is not a local who can do it for you. Also it is easier if you pluck the birds while warm.

More
10 years 8 months ago #469150 by KiplingAngel
Replied by KiplingAngel on topic Roosters!
Eeeeeeeeeek

I raised these boys from eggs

Don't think I could 'dispatch' them without a total meltdown myself

If there was someone around us who could 'show us the way' then perhaps it wouldn't be so stressful - but just the thought is a bit much

And I know I bred them to be meat birds... just didn't figure on the emotions...

More
10 years 8 months ago #469170 by Sue
Replied by Sue on topic Roosters!