Garden plants gone wild

More
10 years 4 months ago #36677 by Geba
Garden plants gone wild was created by Geba
I love growing things and particularly like growing things which are easy to grow :) Garden escapees often feature, and many of my trips around the country have been punctuated by sudden stops to grab 'something I saw' growing by the side of the road, and the accompanying efforts to bring it home. I've acquired all kinds of plants over the years that way, as well as worked out how to carry them safely over the roads to home. Plastic milk bottles are great plant carriers :)

Different parts of the country favour different plants, but my current favourites are evening primrose (bright yellow, which I brought home from Edgecumbe) and snapdragons (all colours, which started springing up in abandoned house sites in Christchurch). A local one is oxalis articulata, which has bright pink flowers and grows from corms, and doesn't invade like most other oxalis.
I'm an expert at spotting abandoned gardens & orchards too, and have bulbs and fruit tree seedlings from just about everywhere.

Would love to hear what grows wild in other districts, if anyone cares to write a few lines :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 4 months ago #477671 by Ruth
Replied by Ruth on topic Garden plants gone wild
We could send you some lovely wild ginger!

More
10 years 4 months ago #477678 by kai
Replied by kai on topic Garden plants gone wild
fennel and crocosmia and ever lasting sweet pea

More
10 years 4 months ago #477680 by kai
Replied by kai on topic Garden plants gone wild
and nasturtium, it is everywhere, and Thai basil

More
10 years 4 months ago #477694 by reggit
Replied by reggit on topic Garden plants gone wild