Horse racing enthusiasts, can you explain...

More
8 years 7 months ago #36381 by reggit
www.stuff.co.nz/the-press/sport/racing/9...t-incredible-cup-win watched this last night on the news, if the horse broke out of pace/trot and was cantering/galloping, how could it then go on to win? Why wasn't it disqualified?

Curious :confused: :D

Take a break...while I take care of your home, your block, your pets, your stock! [;)] PM me...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 7 months ago #474727 by Hawkspur
I have no knowledge of racing, but perhaps because the driver held it back during that gallop to the point where it gained no advantage from it, being behind all the other runners?
I know that pacing is the most energy efficient gait, (but only suited to smooth ground) and trotting is next, so perhaps a gallop held back is more of a disadvantage energy-wise for the horse, depending on the length of the race too I suppose.

More
8 years 7 months ago #474745 by muri
I have a feeling, but dont really know that they are given a penalty for the number of strides at a gallop
A lot of horses do break at the trots and they couldnt all be eliminated.
You would have to assume there is a system in place that would be acceptable within the trotting world for this kind of situation otherwise other runners would have lodged protests
It would be interesting to know the speed of a pace as compared to a gallop. I would imagine the gallop is actually faster than the pace or trot, even tho as Hawkspur says the trot is the most energy efficient

More
8 years 7 months ago #474747 by ronnie
When a pacer breaks during a race, there is no penalty as it is felt losing its place in the field is penalty enough and they have to be pretty good to then get up and get a placing let alone win the race,