Buying a new computer

More
11 years 8 months ago #31919 by ronnie
Buying a new computer was created by ronnie
Hello all knowledgable computer people.

My old HP computer and Epson printer are in their final death throes so its time to replace both.
I think I would prefer desktop rather than laptop.
I spend most of my time answering and sending emails with the usual websites to visit. Don't view any video, but that may change with a computer that can handle them. Same with photos - don't store a lot of them as camera also sort of died as it wont talk to the computer.
Has been suggested a colour laser printer would be the way to go so no more ink cartridges to cause me grief. Printer is used for the usual stuff plus invoices and address labels etc. and is used every day.
Also need a new monitor as mine is the old 14 inch that looks like a telly.

So, what are your suggestions and rough price for a package please. I am a computer novice, so the technical stuff will go right over my head. There is not an unlimited budget for this purchase.
Where would be the best place to purchase from - retailer or online store and who is reputable to deal with.

I have been offered an ex business lease computer (by a bloke who makes his living by selling these) with new monitor at a sensible price. Not sure if that is the best way to go, or spend the extra and buy new.
Please pm me if you prefer

Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 8 months ago #427233 by Simkin
Replied by Simkin on topic Buying a new computer
Hi Ronnie,

we purchased a new desk top computer recently. Be aware that what once was 'Windows' is now split up into different packages. You don't get 'Word' with it anymore, only 'Word Starter' which is of no use whatsoever or, alternatively, a 30 day trial of Word. Once these 30 days are up you have the choice between paying $$$ or not having a word processor. Also 'Outlook Express' is no more.