Kiwisaver the Self Employed

More
14 years 9 months ago #19100 by Toast
I was contributing to Kiwisaver while working last year but when the job dried up I stopped. I've checked the balance & everything is as it should be.

I'm now self employed but as yet have not earned any money. However, should start earning soon although will be very slow. Anyway, I have given up a couple of my weekly luxuries & have decided to put the savings into KS.

I meet the criteria to contribute because I'm a resident etc & under 65. How much will I be allowed to contribute? When you're employed you choose the percentage, 2%, 4% or 8%. Or is that the employer's contribution.

Anybody know? I rang the bank handling my KS & they said just come in & fill in a form for an AP. However, I don't know if he understood that I didn't have any income.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Toast is the best food in the world
Whisky is the best drink in the world

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 9 months ago #283552 by The Kats Place
I don't work anymore - well not for wages anyway. I nominated an amount and just direct credit that each fortnight.

kats
Live your life in such a way that it will be easy for people to say nice things at your funeral [;)]

More
14 years 9 months ago #283554 by Scouse Girl
The goverment will only match your $20 per week, providing you credit the amount per year (1043.00) or $20 per week. Being self employed it is up to you to set up a A/P or D/D to the fund which you are in.

Ye know what I mean?...no!

More
14 years 9 months ago #283558 by Toast
Replied by Toast on topic Kiwisaver the Self Employed
Does that mean a maximum of $20 per week?

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Toast is the best food in the world
Whisky is the best drink in the world

More
14 years 9 months ago #283580 by The Kats Place
Yes I think so, that the govenments contribution is only $20 per week.
I did $50 a fortnight.

kats