Jury Service - how often are you called?

More
13 years 1 day ago #18812 by reggit
For the last few years (well, probably the last 20!) I have received jury summons about 3 times a year.

Each time I explain that as I am a sole trader contractor working on an hourly rate, if I am unable to work due to jury service, I don't get paid, so am at a financial disadvantage.

If circumstances allowed it, I'd be happy to be on a jury as I think it would be really interesting... what is frustrating is that the two years I did work inhouse at a council where jury service is covered and there were other people to cover for me if I was away (my biggest problem now), I was never summonsed! [:(!]

Anyhoo, last time I got the notice I called up to ask how they selected and was told it was totally random. I find that hard to believe as in that time, my hubby has never had a jury summons, not once! If I am that 'lucky' with a random selection for this, I should be buying Lotto tickets!!!

I also asked if I could be put on a list of 'please excuse until further notice' rather than all this paperwork both ends three times a year, but was told that was not possible. So the little exchange of papers between myself and the district court will just continue for the foreseeable future...

How often do others find themselves being called up? :confused:

Take a break...while I take care of your home, your block, your pets, your stock! [;)] PM me...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 1 day ago #278676 by Organix
I received a mail delayed jury service back in the late 1980s which was after the event so I was a 'no-show' on that one.

In 35+ years of working life that has been the only one :)

Harm Less Solutions.co.nz
NZ & AU distributor of Eco Wood Treatment stains and Bambu Dru bamboo fabrics and clothing

• maggies mum
13 years 1 day ago #278678 by maggies mum
Replied by maggies mum on topic Jury Service - how often are you called?