Help - getting laptop and desktop talking to each other

More
13 years 8 months ago #15223 by reggit
So far I have my laptop with mobile broadband working well (apart from painfully slow sending or receiving larger emails) but most of my stuff is still on my desktop, meaning I am having to use a memory stick to move stuff back and forth between the laptop and desktop which I am tiring on very quickly! [:(!]

So is there an easy way (simple as a cable attachment?) that I can use to be able to connect the two so I can move files from one to the other to work on them?

Please say yes!

Take a break...while I take care of your home, your block, your pets, your stock! [;)] PM me...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 8 months ago #231749 by Gracelands
I'm no expert, but if you want to keep doing it, you could buy a wireless router, and set up a wireless network. Not sure of costs. you'd maybe need network cards in each as well.

If its a one-off, would probably be easier to keep doing what you're doing. In theory the old co-ax cable would be able to transfer, but you'd probably still need network cards????

I'm sure Grant will be along soon to tell you everythink I've just said is rubbish......

"Just living is not enough. One must have sunshine, freedom and a little flower."
Hans Christian Anderson

More
13 years 8 months ago #231756 by NZ Appaloosas
I'm not sure how it was done, but I can plug one end of a cable into my lappie and then access my lawyer's lappie.

Diane

Featuring Wap Spotted, sire of the first Wap Spot 2 grandget in Southern Hemisphere and New Zealand

On the first day God created horses. On the second day He spotted the best ones.

More
13 years 8 months ago #231758 by eelcat