Circus animals

More
13 years 11 months ago #13458 by oskatd
Circus animals was created by oskatd
Just back from my lesson (got drenched, ho hum) at the racecourse, and there is a circus there for a couple of weeks. As I drove in I saw their animals - a mini, a large goat, and a couple of alpacas or llamas. They were in a lovely coral type arrangement looking healthy, happy and well fed. As I was leaving, and the circus was gearing up there were about a dozen protesters outside the gate waving banners 'The circus is hell for animals'. And I wondered to myself if it really was in this country. I would imagine that the SPCA keeps a very close eye on them. Whilst I am sure that in certain countries circus life is hell for animals (probably all animals live in hell in some countries, as do the people), but perhaps such a protest is a bit misguided here? I am well aware that everyone has a right to have their say, but I have no experience of circus animals other than what i viewed on the way in.....

It's all go here in Tauranga, I tell you :rolleyes:[}:)]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Toni - Northland
13 years 11 months ago #207477 by Toni - Northland
Replied by Toni - Northland on topic Circus animals
Probably the same lot that want to ban farming.

More
13 years 11 months ago #207478 by Sunflower
Replied by Sunflower on topic Circus animals
I was going to that protest, but got held up moving factories.
I am not involved with the group protesting, but I feel very strongly about keeping exotic animals such as elephants in that enviroment.
Elephants are highly social animals and what does anyone learn about elephants from seeing them doing tricks? There are elephants in the Zoo which have room to more and most importantly, other elephants to be around. I can only hope that she will be retired and have some freedom in her last years.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]