First time chicken owner - but they seem weird!

More
1 year 4 months ago #553955 by TBenedict
Hi guys! I'm Tara. I've been perusing this forum for many years but never had a big enough patch to need to ask any questions. That changed recently when I moved to Taupō - I now have about 1.2 acres of mostly lawn to work with.

Anyhow, two weeks ago I fetched my first pullets! Three 14-ish week Rhode Island Reds from a breeder in Hamilton. They are lovely birds - but they seem a bit strange for two reasons.

1. I've gotten them to warm up to me with meal worm bribes, but if I'm not around they will hide in their coop ALL DAY (I got one of those ridiculous but super easy maintenance Omlet Cubes). They'll just pop out for the occasional feed and drink. When I'm around they'll come out and seem happy and healthy. But...

2. They are afraid of leaf litter and won't touch living worms. I brought a pile of leaf litter into their current enclosure so they could scratch around in it. And whenever I rustle it they bolt! Also grabbed a big scoop of worms from the worm farm to get them scratching but they won't have anything to do with them.

Is this normal? How do I get them to act like chickens? hahaha

Also, one other question. They all sneeze a fair bit - one in particular. No other symptoms, so I think it's just Taupō being infamously dusty and hayfevery to all of creation. Or is this wishful thinking and I should be concerned?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 4 months ago #553956 by Stikkibeek