Calculating sheep gestation dates

More
2 years 10 months ago #547561 by Quantum
Hi all. I have just signed up to being a new member to this LSB forum, although I have been learning loads of very helpful info on here for a few years. I have a question I was hoping someone could help with. Is the day of mating counted as day 0 or as day 1 when calculating a due date for sheep? Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 10 months ago #547562 by LongRidge
It does not matter because each sheep has a different average gestation length of plus or minus 7 days from the number of days you have been given - probably 150 days. With a single and a twin/multiple mated on the same day, the twin usually lambs sooner
The following user(s) said Thank You: Quantum

More
2 years 10 months ago #547573 by muri
Dont get too hung up on lambing dates as the sheep will often do it differently anyway, and there are not only variations between the number of lambs to be birthed, but different breeds as well may vary slightly.
dorpersheep.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/sheep-gestation.pdf

More
2 years 10 months ago #547576 by tonybaker
good advice Muri! many LSB'ers rely on info from "real farmers" who have to make a profit from early lambs. I have always allowed the ram to run with the flock so the ewes lamb when they are ready - usually mid to late August. As you say, breeds and climate can make a big difference. Keep it simple.....

5 acres, Ferguson 35X and implements, Hanmay pto shredder, BMW Z3, Countax ride on mower, chooks, Dorper and Wiltshire sheep. Bosky wood burning central heating stove and radiators. Retro caravan. Growing our own food and preserving it. Small vineyard, crap wine. :)

More
2 years 10 months ago #547578 by Quantum