Another newbie here!

More
4 years 3 months ago #538871 by HSV_Darren
Hi, my name is Darren and I live in Lower Hutt, I found this site a few weeks ago and found it great for any information reguarding hobbie farming and fence building and now have registered and look forwards to future posts, my main reason for coming here is to gather and ask information about very small scale keeping of a few sheep or goats.
My family has a 10 acre block of land in Featherston which has pine and gum trees on it and also of regeneration native bush under the exotic trees, also grass and weeds where trees have been removed, my plan is to fence off the flattest part of the section (about 1-2 acres) and have 3-4 sheep or goats taking care of any native regrowth and grass, I plan on removing a lot more trees to let more light in and encourage more grass to grow.
The property boarders Tararua Forest Part and has an old broken fence surrounding the section, my plan is to reinstate some of the old fence using a few of the only sound posts to create a corner then build the remaining half to enclose a 1-2 acre area, my thoughts so far on the fencing is to have a 9 wire post and battern fence, since I will be only able to get to the section once a week, I don't want any animals to get stuck in the fence if It has less wires, another decision I have to make and need some advise on is do I get sheep or goats and what breed would be best? I am a hunter and sheep sound like a tasty option but maybe goats do a much better job clearing scrub? Or will sheep eat scrub to? I myself do not know!
I'm not looking at making any money on is hobbie and don't mind spending some money, I spend a lot of time at the section tending some beehives I have there, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 3 months ago #538886 by Deanna
Replied by Deanna on topic Another newbie here!