Lime or Seaweed?

More
6 years 3 months ago #536174 by Brytea
Lime or Seaweed? was created by Brytea
Hi Everyone
I am new to land management - I have purchased a 5 acre block with mostly creeping buttercup. Some parts of it are somewhat wet, as I have a wetland, a dam with a river running through it. However this winter I was pleasantly surprised at how dry the block remained. I have very volcanic soil and it's very fertile. I have horses so need to grow some good grass! I have sprayed the buttercup with a selective herbicide (last week), and now need to feed the soil or the remaining grasses. I believe the property was 'accidentally" limed last year (by the farmer next door's contractor). What do all you seasoned lifestyles think? Seaweed fertiliser or more lime? And when is a good time to regrass (will have to be by hand).
Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 3 months ago #536175 by tonybaker
Replied by tonybaker on topic Lime or Seaweed?
Buttercup likes wet land! so the spraying may not be a cure all. Why not do a soil test? Ravensdown can organise and suggest a fertility programme. I have had horses and I believe the big problem is to keep them away from feed, so maybe you want some sheep. Also you could just wait until next autumn to resow and see how the land measures up.

5 acres, Ferguson 35X and implements, Hanmay pto shredder, BMW Z3, Countax ride on mower, chooks, Dorper and Wiltshire sheep. Bosky wood burning central heating stove and radiators. Retro caravan. Growing our own food and preserving it. Small vineyard, crap wine. :)

• sandgrubber
6 years 3 months ago #536181 by sandgrubber
Replied by sandgrubber on topic Lime or Seaweed?
I wouldn't use seaweed unless
1. I had a cheap or free source or
2. Someone who knew soil science specifically recommended it, preferably after doing soil testing.