HI there

More
4 years 11 months ago #533780 by jchilford
HI there was created by jchilford
HI from Taranaki.

We bought a wee acre and have been in for a few months. New to the region and the lsb life.
Old villa, plonked square in the middle of the section with decorative (ugh) gardens taking up a 3rd of the property.

We've got chooks, they've already given us a lot to learn. We're in the process of fencing and adapting the land to suit us so we can get lambs and a pig or two.

We want to plant fruit and nut trees this year and I'm currently studying horticulture :)

So much to learn, do and grow but I wouldn't have it any other way.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 11 months ago #533792 by tonybaker
Replied by tonybaker on topic HI there
Hi and welcome to LSB. You will find most of what you need to know on here. Even a small block can be very rewarding. You will soon be able to buy lambs so check your fences. Remember 7 wire fences, unless very well maintained don't keep lambs in. I run a pig in an enclosure made of 4 farm gates and move it from time to time as they churn up the grass even if ringed. Chickens are super easy if you have an automatic feeder. Go for the shedding type of sheep breed as it is hard to get shearers these days.
Good luck.

5 acres, Ferguson 35X and implements, Hanmay pto shredder, BMW Z3, Countax ride on mower, chooks, Dorper and Wiltshire sheep. Bosky wood burning central heating stove and radiators. Retro caravan. Growing our own food and preserving it. Small vineyard, crap wine. :)

More
4 years 11 months ago #533800 by LongRidge
Replied by LongRidge on topic HI there
Welcome.