Hello from Whangarei

More
5 years 2 days ago #533715 by backtonz
Hi everyone, greetings from Whangarei. We have just moved here from Auckland, now living on a lifestyle block, would be great to meet lifestyle farmers here. We are looking at getting some sheep, possibly cows, does anyone sell them here? Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 2 days ago #533716 by Ruth
Replied by Ruth on topic Hello from Whangarei
Hi and welcome to the forum. What's your previous experience with livestock and how big is your block?

More
5 years 2 days ago #533717 by backtonz
Replied by backtonz on topic Hello from Whangarei
Thanks Ruth, I have no previous experience with livestock, but my husband does, the block is approximately 3 hectares.

More
5 years 2 days ago #533719 by Rokker
Replied by Rokker on topic Hello from Whangarei
Welcome to LSB. :) . You'll certainly find a wealth of help and advice on this forum.

What are your ambitions for your block - particularly with your stock? Are you planning to grow them for meat for your freezer, or to make a little extra pocket money? Or maybe a bit of both!

Of course, if you're planning to buy in some cattle, the first thing you'll need to do is register with NAIT .

Do NOT cross this paddock! ... Unless you can do it in 9 seconds, 'cos the bull can do it in 10!

More
5 years 2 days ago #533720 by Ruth
Replied by Ruth on topic Hello from Whangarei

backtonz wrote: Thanks Ruth, I have no previous experience with livestock, but my husband does, the block is approximately 3 hectares.

You'll be pushing it to have cows and sheep without overdoing things pasture-wise. A nice cattle mob size is four or five, maybe. Perhaps you'd only want three and a small handful of sheep. What's the land like - steep, which way does it face, how well has the pasture and soil been maintained?

More
5 years 2 days ago - 5 years 2 days ago #533722 by Ferg-HB
Replied by Ferg-HB on topic Hello from Whangarei