Hi from Liam and Becs

More
6 years 6 months ago #517287 by jafa5
Hi from Liam and Becs was created by jafa5
Hey guys just a quick hello :)
We just bought a small piece of land up in Warkworth and are looking to run some poultry. Never had anything more than a garden before but we're both handy and looking forward to learning how to build and secure fences, gates and look after our small herd of chickens, a bantam and a duck called Ping (they come with the house).
I'm a landscape architect by trade with lots of years under my belt doing design and build but mostly decorative rather than rural. We both like to make other provisions, cheese, salami and other cured meats. I do quite a lot of charcuterie and teach it on occasion. Especially like making parfait, black puddings and potted shrimps! Its been a good xmas!
I also build breweries and a run a small 100 litre unit in my current workshop.
Keen to learn more about poultry and whats the best breeds to help keep the mowing down to a minimum. happy to keep them for meat, eggs or just as lawn mowers. Was thinking geese or turkey would be a good option but really have little idea as yet...
Fun times ahead!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 6 months ago #517296 by Stikkibeek
Replied by Stikkibeek on topic Hi from Liam and Becs