Moving home to a LSB. Building and setup costs???

More
7 years 4 weeks ago #39698 by The_Suttons
Hi all... This is my first time posting on LSB but I have been reading up and leaning a lot... Great site!

My wife and I are moving back home to Canterbury from Western Australia at the end of the year and have our hearts set on getting a lifestyle block on the Canterbury Plains. My wife had a farming upbringing and I am keen on gardening so we do have some idea of what it is going to take to run our lifestyle but we are both very new to buying and building property.

We are looking at a bare land block with the plan to get a shell only house built (120m, 3 bed, 1 bath). We have quite a limited budget so I would say we are very money poor, time rich with plans to do as much as we can ourselves to save.

My very rough estimate on the cost has put an expected budget of around $250k on the land (4ha) and I have a quote for approximately $80k for the shell kitset. Other costs will be getting the shell built ($25k), power/phone/water to the house ($25k) and sewage system($25k) for a total of $405K.

I am very weary of getting caught out with un expected costs and we really need to keep the cost down with a max budget of $450k. The more left over the quicker the fences and trees will go in.

Priority will be getting onto the block and getting the house a code of compliance cert with other things like fencing, livestock, landscaping etc. coming later as we can afford them.

I would really like any opinions on our plans, things I have not accounted for, ideas on keeping costs to a minimum, reality! Wanting to talk to other people who have done the lifestyle block on the cheap.

Thanks all,
Hamish

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 4 weeks ago #507430 by Anakei
Hi and welcome!