back to the land

More
7 years 3 months ago #39384 by Remetis
back to the land was created by Remetis
Hi,
I had five acres with horses and cattle. The cattle were to keep the paddocks clean for the horses but I picked up the horse manure every day. Locals thought I was mad, walking around with my wheelbarrow and dog ambling along but the acreage wasn't big enough for several broodmares and young TB's being raised. From there I went back to Uni. got a new degree in Urban Geography and now am a consultant in economic development. I've been doing this for over 20 years, live in Auckland (I nearly wrote toxic Auckland but don't want to be rude) but will sell this year and move back onto the land. I'd rather be there than at the beach and, I need some paddocks for my horses, yep, still have them! Provincial NZ is really struggling and if anyone is interested, this is a topic I am very interested in. Lifestyle blocks have huge potential and can generate an income stream. I am running a one-day conference in Dannevirke April 14. www.provincialmatters.co.nz If anyone books and mentions LSB - LSB will get a donation of 5%. I agree with some of you commenting on the great work Kate has done and i'm happy to contribute. cheers Karen

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 3 months ago #504313 by muri
Replied by muri on topic back to the land
Looks really interesting Remetis, good work.
Pity it is so far away but looks like it would be really interesting.
Isnt amazing how horses pull us back to the land, despite urban jobs etc

More
7 years 3 months ago #504316 by Remetis
Replied by Remetis on topic back to the land
Thanks Muri yes if the horse bug has bitten, there is no cure! ahhh just another addiction

More
7 years 3 months ago #504320 by belinda_h
Replied by belinda_h on topic back to the land