Goats and triangle collars

More
7 years 5 months ago #39018 by HollyM
Hi all - I am a newbie living on a lifestyle block. Dream come true for an animal lover such as myself!
My first animals are 2 gorgeous wee goats 5 months and 3 months (boer and a boer x with something). They have their own small paddock which is perfect for them, until the second evening i look up from cooking dinner and there is one of the little fellas on my balcony!
After running round the 5 acres i finally got them back to where they should be and now we have the wooden triangles around their necks. It's definitely working which is awesome, but it looks horrible and i feel like it's cruel! They seem happy like normal and the triangles seem to just be annoying more than anything else. Guess i am looking for some assurance or advice that this is ok.?? Thanks everyone!!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 5 months ago #501101 by LongRidge
From the point of view of their safety, then what you have done is nearly perfect. It might also teach them that they should not try to escape through fences. We have about 80 Boer goats at the moment, and I really loathe them because they are so good at escaping, and they need a huge amount of work to keep them healthy. To keep goats in, your fences should be "pig netting" which has a smaller gap than sheep netting. I replaced all my 8 wire sheep fences with sheep netting, but they push their heads through then can't get back because the horns catch on the netting.

More
7 years 5 months ago #501159 by katieb
Replied by katieb on topic Goats and triangle collars
you can change the wood to alkathene piope which is nicer on their necks :)

Animals rule our place... cows, calves, sheep, goats, pigs, horses, donkeys, chickens, ducks... the list goes on
...."lifestyle block like" 25 or so acres around the house attached to a rather large farm with dairy drystock & a 600 cow dairy conversion :)....1500 acres to call home