Hi all, Any advice for a novice?

More
7 years 5 months ago #38991 by lando
HI,

I have been referring to this site for a few years while we waited for the chance to buy our piece of paradise in the country. It is very informative and there is a lot of good advice and ideas.

My Wife and I are in the process of buying an acre of sloping land an hour away from our home.

I am not a complete newbie as I have worked on a farm (6 months only, dairy was not for me) and been gardening and building things all my life (Thanks Dad!)

I am not sure if this is the right place to post some questions but I am sure you will point me to the right topic if need be!

We will have no water, power or sewer. It is a bare block with no services which we plan to use for a few weekends a month and a few weeks in summer etc. We will gradually spend more and more time there as we establish it.

We will not have any stock but we would like to plant out some natives if we can get everything established.

1- The first thing we need to do is extend the fence height up to 1500mm - 1800mm to keep the dogs in. There is a post, waratah and wire fence around the perimeter now. Has anyone got any suggestions on how to extend these? I was thinking of bolting and wiring 100 x 100 posts to the side of the rounds after running the chainsaw down them to give me a bit of a flat surface. Then running 2 wires on the extension and netting the lot. I am reasonably happy this would take the strain but if anyone would care to correct me feel free.
**** Huntaway X has got a good leap on him and has proved resistant to .11 joules****