marion

More
9 years 4 months ago #38953 by marion preston
marion was created by marion preston
Hi we've had an LSB for 12 years, but no time to do much with it as i was a busy LMC Midwife & my husband a full time gardener.
We have only 1 1/2 acres, but have gone through Alpacas, chooks & olives & since October I've worked on starting an orchard & productive veggie garden, as well as fighting my way thru 10 years of weed festooned garden.
We have an 8 yr old adventurous JRx & a 2 yr old GSD dog, as well as 2 category B mini horses. We got rid of most of the olives , keeping kalamatas for pickling,& had the paddocks ploughed & put into equine pasture, during that process our automatic irrigation got ploughed too--so it's now back to me to run round & turn it all on/off.
My husband bought me a scythe for Christmas, so I could cut the paddocks for hay--unfortunately it was made for a tall person & the snath was too long to adapt--it was returned to sender.
We are in drought mode here in Marlborough, so hay is a very important commodity.
I've googled scythes & it does look complicated, but am very keen & 5ft 5inches tall --so am thinking a small snath would be ok with a 75 blade, as I want to leave some grass for the horses to eat later (they got lame from over eating, so are on hay & in the yard)
Has anyone got any advice/ideas? Scythes nz doesn't have short snaths, & the eshop looks difficult to order something taylor made for me. I didn't know that I needed a wedge & peening stuff etc, so will have to get that too. Have done tai chi in the past, so should be able to scythe, when I've got one, I wait in hope, marion

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 4 months ago #500422 by Mich
Replied by Mich on topic marion
Hi Marion - welcome to the site (or, if you're a previous lurker, great to have you join us :D ).

Great to hear about your piece of paradise, and good luck with the weeding. I can relate...[;)]

Cheers, Mich.