Looking for advice to start my own bullock powered small scale farm

More
8 years 4 days ago #37851 by cowpowerfarm
I've been trawling this site for a while, looking at affordable lifestyle blocks etc. But after reading The New Horse Powered Farm, I realised I will need a whole lot of PRACTICAL experience plowing and tilling (probably with horses as most don't use bullocks anymore) before I even think of buying land.

I've just come back from NSW after training bullocks there for 6 months. The farm I was at didn't have any proper set up so literally I was just haltering up and walking the boys around. Still good experience, but that leaves craving real working experience!!

I could go to pennsylvania or somewhere quite amish and learn a bit, but was hoping for a closer to home option. I am studying aquaculture for intensive small scale farming and am still unsure how much land i will be cultivating, or even needing for all my needs (house, pasture, crops, bioshelter). I don't even know where I want to farm yet - though Northland seems like a great option as I hate the cold..! Plus also I am thinking of agritourism options - bullock cart rides, native edible plants tours, petting zoo, pick your own berries, as well as eventually training teamsters and bullock teams for other farms.

So what I am looking for, is farms that utilize working horses and implements, companies or people that sell these implements, vintage or not, people that have had experience buying and shipping these implements from overseas is also helpful - ie is shipping even an option! People that know people that currently or used to use bullocks or horses, ANYTHING.