Moved rural to the mighty Waikato

More
8 years 4 weeks ago #37705 by DebT
Hi All, my husband, daughters and I have upped sticks from Auckland and moved to a small (1.2acres) lifestyle block in Rotoorangi, near Cambridge. The block is divided into three main paddocks plus two small ones and lawn area around the house. The previous owners have a steer keeping the grass down but that moves in a week. We are looking at what to get to replace it. A steer seems low maintenance but we are complete novices so not sure where is best to source a weaner calf (stock agent or local farmer?). What about delivery? We don't have yards here but the neighbours do and we may be able to use theirs. A silly question, but would one steer get lonely ?
Thanks for your thoughts...:-)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 4 weeks ago #487992 by Ruth
Hi DebT, welcome to the forum.

My tiny-block neighbours had one animal and it spent its whole short and miserable life pacing the fenceline calling to my cattle. It was heartbreaking to watch. Cattle are herd animals. Some will become accustomed to life alone, but they seem to be as individual in that trait as we are. I find some of mine won't settle in a mob of less than four, some will happily live with only one other. Some of the bulls are quite happy on their own, but then they're never too far from others somewhere around. I wouldn't risk it, myself.

Sheep are more labour-demanding and require a bit more maintenance, but a couple of tame self-shedding animals might be a suitable alternative. You'll get lots of opinions on that question.

Choose your animals carefully! What someone else wants to sell you may not be what you really need to buy.

More
8 years 4 weeks ago #488000 by LongRidge
A good question, and not at all silly.