Kwerky at Foxton

More
8 years 6 months ago #36668 by Kwerky
Kwerky at Foxton was created by Kwerky
Hi all, I am a newbie here. I live over Foxton way, and last year acquired 3/4 acre plot just out of Foxton. It is bare land and I am hoping to build next year. I have a passionate feeling for being as self sufficient as I can. Yesterday on Trademe, I found a trader that sells sheds built to any level, with 600mm spacers, so it can be converted to a dwelling. (Lifestyle Sheds). I wanted to have a composting loo and a simple grey water system, but because my land is under 4ha, I have to have a secondary waste water treatment system. I feel really disappointed that they brought this new rule in just six months ago. I CAN have the composting loo - if I fork out for a special permit......... $2-3,000. But I can't afford to be green. I would like to grow vegetables, fruit, nuts, herbs, and have chickens - want to keep it vegetarian, so won't have any other stock. The land is sandy, and I believe the water table is high - about a metre, but it fluctuates with the seasons.
Of course, I could build a house on a b train (in which case it would be 20 metres long, and I would end up with 70m2 of house with overhangs and popouts. I would also dig the trailer into the ground by half a metre, to keep airflow, but gain warmth from the ground, but it's still on wheels, so I could have my composting loo, create a simple grey water system (which I know how to do), and no permit required because it's on wheels. I would be glad for your knowleagable knowledge. Cheers!! Kwerky.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 6 months ago #477551 by Kwerky
Replied by Kwerky on topic Kwerky at Foxton