Hi from a Mamaku Dairy Farm

More
11 years 10 months ago #32861 by White
Hi all. I'm normally pretty much dog tired being up at 4am every morning but if I can be of any help to people rearing calves or milking a house cow, have a sick or lame animal, or a general query re pasture/break feeding/cropping etc, I'll do my best.

About me. I'm a dairy farmer, the female half of a Management team on a 350 cow farm in Mamaku, Rotorua. Slightly over the hill but not dead yet. My partner and I have some LIVELY conversations in the milking shed, as you do, but we keep in mind the 12 hour working days we endure for 18 days straight and make sure we have a DATE on our 3 day weekend off.

Looking forward to getting to know some people that happen to live outside the Mamaku area!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 9 months ago #439777 by Camelotwenz
Hi I've just joined and as I have 3 yearling Jersey heifers who may or may not end up in the freezer, you advice would be nice. I had thought of getting them in calf and have them rear the calves for meat but AI seems too confusing and I don't want a bull. Any thoughts? It all seems a bit daunting. Many thanks, Wenz

More
11 years 9 months ago #439781 by Ruth
Replied by Ruth on topic Hi from a Mamaku Dairy Farm
Welcome, White. :) A number of people ask about calf rearing - often without a lot of prior research, so I'm sure you'll find questions to answer!

Camelotwenz, the ease of AI depends where you are and when you want to do it. It's not too difficult to organise - it's things like heat detection and having good facilities which are likely to be the harder parts.

More
11 years 9 months ago #439786 by Camelotwenz