Hello everyone, from Wellington area

More
10 years 1 month ago #31855 by horsemaddaughter
Hi everyone, looking forward to this forum. I am just planning what will be a hugely significant change to my life - moving to a lifestyle property on the Kapiti Coast. I come from an urban background, born and bred in London and lived in Wellington since arriving in NZ 22 years ago. But my daughter is horse mad (has been for years) and is now competing a lot and we've managed to acquire a pony and 3 young horses. And I've been paying for grazing in Ohariu Valley for way too many years now, so its time to make the move!

So busy looking for lifestyle blocks - we have decided to buy bare land (10-12 acres, preferably flat) and then build. So I need to learn heaps very quickly - water tanks, septic tanks, rural fencing, quad bikes.

Hoping that this forum will provide loads of info, and when I have a stupid question I am sure there will be lots of help.

It may take another 6 - 9 months before I'm living in the country, but I am so looking forward to it.

"A dream becomes a goal when steps are taken towards its achievement"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 1 month ago #426519 by Gallowaypye
Hello and welcome. You will learn a lot, and quickly. Hope you enjoy the ride. We built on bare land, elevated, mostly flat, but some hills. I am really glad of the hills, excellent drainage, no fears of flooding, and good for young horses to develop balance and muscles. It's hard and expensive work, but very rewarding. Good luck!

More
10 years 1 month ago #426521 by foufee
Hi and welcome.

my parents can relate to the horse mad daughter problem :) I had to wait until I could buy my own block though. From what I hear though what you save in grazing Ohariu should almost cover the mortgage :P