Here to learn, and hopefully help out!

More
10 years 5 months ago #30363 by rishka
Hi there,

I'm just a farmer wannabe at the moment, finishing up a PhD in sustainable agriculture - but aim to eventually farm sheep and cattle... after starting out on a lifestyle block!

Kind of split between NZ and New York (upstate, where it's rural and GREEN!) for the forseeable future, but in NZ during the summer months. Which is holiday season... so am offering up my help to anyone in the South Island (but preferably Canterbury) who needs a holiday and therefore someone to look after their animals and farm while they're away. I can also help with some rabbit pest control!

I have been a house sitter in the past, and have looked after lifestyle blocks as part of that. Dogs, sheep, cattle, pigs, chickens, ducks, alpacas, llamas, goats, cats, parrots, pet rabbits/guinea pigs/rats/mice/chinchillas, vege gardens, fruit trees, grape vines... happy to look after them all.

I've been trying to find time to glean info from this site - in the finishing stages of my thesis though, so time away from it is... well. Limited.

Anyway, nice to be here - send me a message if you'd like to chat about a farm-sit opportunity!

Cheers!
Rishka

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 5 months ago #409821 by Ruth
Your farm-sit offer is sadly in entirely the wrong place for me!

Your study though, sounds particularly interesting! What's the title of your thesis or your particular area of research?

More
10 years 5 months ago #409828 by Aria
Welcome to the site - where are you planning to settle on completion of the PhD - the States or NZ? Good luck in those finishing stages!!!!

More
10 years 5 months ago #409857 by igor
Are you going to publish your thesis on the internet? It might make very interesting reading for many of us.

More
10 years 5 months ago #409862 by rishka