I'm starting a Farm Park

More
10 years 5 months ago #30280 by KingCountryPestControl
Hi everyone.

I'm relatively new to LSB. I run King Country Pest Control as a business on the side (hence name) as well as work part time. I have 2 children aged 3 and 5 and own a house in Piopio. My partner works full time in Waitomo and we have just taken on a venture to open up a farm park in WAITOMO.
We are looking for any unwanted farm animals at this stage. Preferably friendly!
We currently have 4 goats (one of which I have at home and milk by hand, anyone got a cheese recipe???), 3 ewes, 1 gotland pelt ram, 1 arapawa ram, a suffolk x wether, a highland cow, a freisian/hereford weaner bull calf, a highland bull calf, a miniature stallion, a breeding pair of miniature kune kune pigs, 2 kune kune piglets and a handful of chooks. Oh and a random white turkey that has started to hang around the chook pen!
So we have a few animals but are still looking for more!
Our budget at the moment is a little stretched as we are spending it all on fencing materials etc to get it going. So any unwanted or cheap animals that you think may suit us would be great.
Interested in wild bird rehabilitation as well. We have a large patch of bush to release birds into. Same goes for little creatures like hedgehogs or possums, stoats, lizards, frogs! Anything New Zealand! We are also putting in a pond, so will take ducks, geese, swans etc.
We aim to make our farm park more like a sanctuary for animals, a peaceful relaxing environment. Not one where animals are just on display and get neglected and under stimulated. We have plenty of land and room to expand when funds permit.
We plan to build a large walk-in bird aviary and large walk-in rabbit and guinea pig enclosures.
So if you can help in any way, be it an animal that needs rescuing or one that needs retiring, we can take it off your hands and give it a great forever home.