Hello Out There !!

More
10 years 9 months ago #28632 by lillies_for_me
Hi :)
A little about me, myself and I.....
I grew up in Auckland (don't judge me from that ha ha!), but lived rurally on once acre in Glenbrook, which is near Karaka or Pukekohe (near Bombay Hills - so maybe i should say i am from North Hamilton ;)). Long story short, i moved to New Plymouth in 2000 to be with my now husband!!
Married in 2003 and have produced two beautiful children: Ryan, 6yrs and Matthew, 5yrs!
My husband is a Deputy Principal at an Intermediate school in New Plymouth. I am a nurse, which has always been my calling! Unfortunately in Dec 08 i was diagnosed with a very rare type of cancer, manifesting as a huge tumor throughout the left side of pelvis and hip area, very aggressive and resistant breed of cancer. After a year (09) of horrendous chemo and radiation, the tumor shrunk by 50% and is not as active. I went back to nursing, lasted six months - with a month in ICU because of it :( . I now live everyday knowing that this cancer will grow back - could be as soon as tomorrow, or 2/5/10 yrs - i am praying that i get to see my beautiful boys grow up into good handsome men [:I] !! I really enjoy being outside with my family, gardening when i feel up to it and having a wine in the sun! It truly is the little things that give the greatest joy - i have learnt this the hard way!
Considering my precarious situation - we decided to buy our dream - a 10 acre farmlet in rural North Taranaki (approx 30mins North of New Plymouth City) atop a hill with 360 degree magnificent views! Its home :) The boys LOVE it - getting muddy, climbing trees, building huts/traps/forts and just being carefree kids!