Wanted: turkeys.

More
11 years 2 months ago #26988 by clinton9
Wanted: turkeys. was created by clinton9
Hi Kate and members,
I'm new to this www. lifestyleblock.co.nz.

My name is Clinton. I lived in Thames, Waikato, New Zealand.
Thames is north of 38oS latitude and on North Island.

I am looking for NZ turkey breeders that sell turkeys (meleagris gallopavo)

My friend Peter wanted turkeys for past years and I looked for turkey breeders, but with 2 or 3 websites, I were unable to find breeders.

I am looking for NZ breeders that sell both brozne (wild-coloured) turkeys and tri-coloured turkeys whose one bird have 3 colours-black, white and orange plumage, with orange secondary coverts.

I will try to post a photo of a tri-coloured turkey in standing & flying postures, with green background.

I would like email addresses, phone numbers of turkey breeders/farmers in North Island, New Zealand., please.

I appreciate your help.

Yours Sincerely

Clinton.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 2 months ago #373691 by trishb
Replied by trishb on topic Wanted: turkeys.
Hi Clinton we are in Coatesville, North Auckland and have 4 turkeys - all bronze wing type. There are a lot of lifestyle blocks here and there are several people up here who sell them occasionally but not on a large scale I think. They pop up on Trade Me sometimes. You just have to keep an eye on TM - probably nearer Spring I would guess.
Our turkeys run free range with the chickens, guineas and fantail doves. We original had 4 young ones but 2 females unfortunately died - don't think it was disease - more likely they were too shy and didn't get enough food - then we got 2 more boys who are now big and bossy! So now have 3 boys and 1 girl. Hoping to breed the girl with one of the unrelated boys. So there will be 2 surplus boys........... But they are only pets!
Anyhow, they are very interesting to have around.......

More
11 years 1 month ago #375365 by clinton9