new at this......

More
11 years 2 months ago #26881 by aussie annie
hi, i am a bit new at this ,ok very new at this , my back ground is 3 kids ,from 18 to 7 and many chooks , we live on land 35 mins from Ballarat ,victoria. my husband works on a large beef, cropping farm ,and we live on the farm too, I have a clydesdale that i ride and look after some horse down the road. hi to every one over the water , annie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 2 months ago #372261 by Stu_R
Replied by Stu_R on topic new at this......
Hi ya Annie and welcome to the LSB cyber family :)
:) hope hubby farms Murray Greys ( them being the best Aussie breed :) )
:) am sure you will find lots of interesting and helpful people here :)
LOL :) :) us Kiwis dont mind when your only just across the ditch :)
Have fun and enjoy the site eh :)

5 retired Greyhounds ( Bridgette , Lilly, GoGo,Sam and now Lenny) 15 friendly sheep all of whom are named and come when you call them :) , 2 goats, Mollie and Eee Bee :
Olive trees , .. old bugger doing the best he can with no money or land :)

More
11 years 2 months ago #372316 by LongRidge
Replied by LongRidge on topic new at this......
I answered your other post before reading this one, so will add some more comments here.
If your heading dog can be kept at the farm and away from the chickens, and given work, then your choice would be right. But if she will be kept near the chickens, she will likely round them up. My heading/eye dog loves chickens and could eye them all day long. However, the instant that they move he tries to stop them .... which is often fatal to the chicken. Trying to unteach a natural instinct can sometimes be very difficult.

More
11 years 2 months ago #373584 by helen55
Replied by helen55 on topic new at this......
Hi Annie