A rest is as good as a change

More
11 years 5 months ago #26246 by Ruth
Kia ora!

I'm a farmer, writer and photographer (and a number of other things currently in recess).

I breed Angus cattle mostly for breeding, i.e. I want to keep making a better herd. We keep a few sheep to produce lambs mainly for eating. My partner (Stephan) is an ex-shepherd, shearer, fencer, now those plus fabulous chef, woodturner and contract conservation pest trapper.

Together we take reasonable care of a very beautiful 240 acres just south-east of Kaitaia, in a reasonably high rainfall valley.

I've been a member of this forum for several years. I'd always called myself Isla online, but when Isla herself (my pedigree Angus cow) died just over a year ago, I found continuing under her name quite difficult. Pseudo-anonymity also became more and more pointless, so I'm starting again, with my own name.

I'm somewhat antisocial, don't beat about the bush, call hand-held earth moving tools spades, but am rarely intentionally impolite. I like thinking, discussing, working things out, finding better ways to do things. I don't like "we've always done this so it's right," and my definition of political correctness is an earlier one: the determination not to exclude or inadvertently offend other people. I know how to use apostrophes. I have always been a feminist, sometimes a radical one. All of these things inform my writing and my style.

I write mostly for pleasure and so that when my memory inevitably goes off wherever those of my grandmother and mother have gone before it, my nieces and nephews can find the things I'd like to have told them.

I write here because I like to share the things I've learnt, because I remember not knowing them. It also helps me think about the things I still don't know.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 5 months ago #365090 by PeterNZ
Hello Ruth,