A basic question about crop economics!

More
12 years 3 months ago #22270 by emma
A very good morning to you all.

I have a question which, despite searching on google (and we all know how long that takes) and talking to others, I'm still not clear about: how much does it cost, per hectare, to produce lucerne or barley etc, and what is the likely annual profit?

As you can see, I'm a newbie to all this (tho' I grew up on a farm in Scotland... um, a few years ago..) and I ask because we are looking at a property with about 8 ha of potential cropping and we need to work out whether it's feasible (its more land than we were originally considering). It has yielded barley previously and has been resown in grass and clover for grazing. The land is near Leeston, Canterbury, has sandy silt loam soil and there is available water.

Most grateful for any help or resources from you wonderfully knowledgeable folk.

Emma

PS I look forward to participating in the forum when we are finally 'up and running' wherever it may be!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 3 months ago #320939 by kate
Hi Emma and welcome to lsb :D

I'm interested in hearing the answers to your question, it's something we haven't considered but we have enough land now to consider it...

Cheers
Kate

Web Goddess

More
12 years 3 months ago #320950 by debnjohn
Yes a very good question!

We have been 'sat' on 4.6 Ha of old paddock for 2 years wondering what to do with it, and have finally decided to plant lucerne.

I can tell you that our preparation costs have mounted up quite quickly as we have no heavy machinery ourselves. Similarly when it comes to harvesting we will be at the mercy of the market selling as a 'standing crop' as I don't think it is viable to invest in equipment for such a small plot.

Cheers,
John

"Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen" Albert Einstein

More
12 years 3 months ago #320960 by cowvet