I want to learn to spin but need a wheel!

More
12 years 1 month ago #31812 by ZummersetGirl
I'm new to LSB forums and have a quick look at the archived messages but couldn't find the info I need. I would like to starting spinning but need a wheel and don't know which one to buy. Can't afford a top range model though!! Trade me has lots of wheels but as I know as much about spinning as I do about nuclear fission :D I thought I would ask the experts.
Joining a spinning group would be an idea - does anybody know of one near Te Horo? All info very gratefully received.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 1 month ago #426019 by tonic
my family make spinning wheels... there are a wide range of prices so you are not limited to second hand, pick one you like as it will be with you for years. you can look on ravelry as they have groups about different brands and you can read them. i will see if i can track down a contact for a spinning group for you tomorrow.

More
12 years 1 month ago #426031 by kai
There is a spinning group that meets in Otaki at one of the church halls in Te Rauparaha Road. I only know this as the lady we bought the house from was a spinner and mentioned it. I believe they meet on a thursday, but I am not sure exactly where, but do a search and you should come up with something. The Lady has moved out of the area so I can't give you her contact details

More
12 years 1 month ago #426032 by kai
Also have a look in the charity shops in Waikanae, I am pretty sure I saw one with two wheels in couple of weeks ago.

More
12 years 1 month ago #426043 by Kiwi303
Check the dump recycling centres, I picked up a complete good wheel for $20 a couple of years ago from the Richmond refuse centre... I ran off here to China without ever settling down and trying to learn how to use it, and as soon as I was gone my brothers partner nicked it :D

You Live and Learn, or you don't Live Long -anon

More