PDA

View Full Version : Help with our calves please

Tui Ridge
4th April 2011, 11:58 AM
Please bear with me - i'm a novice with all things 'farm' related [:p]

Back in Nov last year we got 6 weaner calves - lowline angus x jersey - 3 heifers and 3 steers. I'm satisfied that they are what they are meant to be and they'd had colostrum and the appropriate drenches etc for their age.

They did however seem very young - the 3 boys in particular were (i think) only 11-12 weeks old [:(] - we didn't realise at the time that we really should have got older calves.

Anyway - i'm not happy with their health - the littlest one is still tiny and looks like a baby - just doesn't seem to be growing well.

They all look reasonable healthy - shiny coat, clear eyes, pooing normally etc. but they all get very bloated quite regularly :confused:

An experienced farmer told us they just needed better quality grass, but we don't have that - just the pasture that is here and plenty of it.

So, what can I do to improve their health and stop the bloating? supplements, extra feed - what sort? do I need to get a Vet to check them - could it be worms?

They are very sweet friendly little beasts and I don't like seeing them uncomfortable and not thriving but I don't know what to do about it :o

Blueberry
4th April 2011, 12:15 PM
Hi, TR