Template: Skinny | Lean | Well Rounded | Plump
Old 15th May 2011, 09:09 PM   #1
Lindeggs
advanced member

What shall I plant now?

I'm a beginner gardener, living in Auckland with a back yard that could do with some veges in it. Please help me with some suggestions!

I am gradually building up a raised garden on some pretty well-drained volcanic soil. This bed is only about 200 cm long by 90 cm wide, and the depth of soil is about 20cm so far, with a surround of bricks. In summer I grew some tomatoes, silverbeet and basil in there and planted some strawberries but didn't get to eat them once the wild birds found them.

Oh and I grew a whole lot of marigolds. That wasn't entirely deliberate but gosh they looked nice!

Since harvesting the tomatoes my chickens have been kindly digging compost into the soil and keeping the weed seedlings down. Now it's time to plant it up and cover it in bird netting to keep the hungry chooks away (they will not be impressed).

So what shall I plant in this patch?

I'm also willing to dig over some of the lawn for new garden beds if you can persuade me that the aching arms and legs will be worth it!

My criteria:
  • The vegetables need to be easy-care and foolproof for a beginner.
  • They need to be suitable for a small space.
  • I don't want to spend any money!
This is a rented property and at some point I will have to abandon the whole project with whatever is in the ground at the time. The last time I tried this the property was sub-divided and a house plonked in the middle of my carefully tended patch so it's not even as if future tenants would reap the benefit.

So... suggestions please?

Missing my lovely chooks

Last edited by Lindeggs; 15th May 2011 at 09:14 PM..
Lindeggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2011, 11:10 PM   #2
Stikkibeek
lsb member

Re: What shall I plant now?